Cover your tracks
Hide page button
You might notice that some pages on our website have a 'hide page' button. If you click on this it will immediately take you away from the Knightstone website to Google. If you’re using a computer in a public place, or somewhere that someone might see which website you’re visiting, you can use this button to quickly hide what you’re doing.
Someone can still click on the back button of your browser to see which site you were visiting, so if you want to completely hide your visit to Knightstone you need to clear your internet history and cookies.
Read the information below if you’re worried about someone discovering that you’ve been on our website, and find out what you can do to cover your tracks.
If you want to be completely sure of not being tracked online, the safest way to access our site is by using a computer at a library, internet cafe, a friend's house or at work.
Deleting cookies and address histories
Removing data from your computer might be noticed by the person you want to cover your tracks from. If you share your computer with others then clearing your cookies means that saved information, for example passwords for online banking, will disappear. Because their passwords won’t be saved, people you share your computer with may realise you've removed data. They may also notice if the address history has been cleared which may make them suspicious.
How to clear internet history
When you use the internet, information about the sites you visit is stored in the internet browser. To lower the chances of someone finding out you’ve visited our website, follow the instructions below to clear your internet history.
You can clear your internet history by following the steps in the links below. If you know the browser you’re using, go straight to the relevant instructions.
If you’re not sure which browser you’re using, click on help on the toolbar at the top of the browser screen (or window). A dropdown menu will appear and the last entry will include the name of the browser. For example, if it says “About Internet Explorer”, this means you’re using Internet Explorer.
On a Mac, the name of the browser appears in the menu bar, just to the right of the Apple logo.
Instructions for different browsers
Most browsers also have the option of 'private' or 'incognito' browsing. This stops pages you view being stored in your browser’s history, cookie store, or search history after you’ve closed all your 'private' tabs. But any files you download or bookmarks you create will be kept. Note that your internet service provider, or, if you’re at work, your employer, is still able to see your browsing history.